Indian Navy, KSEB Nachimuthu Gounder Cup bag – The New Indian Express


By Express press service

CHENNAI (Reuters) – Indian Navy defeated Indian Railways 83-70 in the men’s basketball final of the Indian Basketball Tournament and won the 55th Nachimuthu Gounder Cup held in Coimbatore Friday. The event was hosted by the Coimbatore District Basketball Association at the city’s VOC Park.

In the women’s final, KSEB beat South Western Railways 64-39 to win the 19th CRI Pumps Trophy.
Finals: Men: Indian Navy bt Indian Railways 83-70. Women: KSEB 64 (PS Jeena 30, Susan Florentina 14) bt South Western Railways 39 (CL Rini 12).

Victory of the Hindustan Eagles
Hindustan Eagles shut out Southern Railway 3-0 in a Chennai Football Association Senior Division Championship game played at FC Madras Arena, Thoraipakkam on Friday.

Results: Hindustan Eagles 3 (G Balaji 16th, Lallawkimo 18th, Senthamil 60th) bt Southern Railway 0.

badminton meet
About 200 players will be seen in action in the Chennai District Badminton Association Ranking Tournament for boys and girls under 17 and under 19 in singles and doubles. The senior men will also participate in the tournament. The two-day event will be held Saturday and Sunday at the SDAT Aquatic Complex in Velachery.

Jagadish shines
K Jagadish’s 6/34 helped Eagle Cricket Club beat Magnet Cricket Club by five wickets in a TNCA Zone E Fifth Division league match. In another match, Chennai Corporation Official Association lost to Unicorn CC by six wickets.

Brief scores: V Division ‘E’: Magnet Cricket Club 90 in 22.5 ovs (K Jagadish 6/34) lost to Eagle Cricket Club 93/5 in 22.4 ovs. Chennai Corporation Official Association 118 in 37.3 ovs lost to Unicorn Cricket Club 121/4 in 19.5 ovs (K Jagan Panchanathan 60). Gandhi Cricket Club 238/7 in 50 ovs (J Jai Simha 66) bt HSBC Recreation Club 217 in 48.1 ovs (DK Vigneshwar 57; M Pradeep 4/37). TANGEDCO SGC 211 in 47.3 ovs (S Alaguvel 74; R Chokkalingam 6/72) bt Chatnath Recreation Club 208/9 in 50 ovs (KS Rohit Narayanan 89; A Muthukumaran 4/38). Air India Sports Club 210 in 46.2 ovs (Mohammed Zaid 62) lost to National Cricket Club 213/7 in 35.1 ovs. VI Division ‘A’: Free Lancers Cricket Club 183/7 in 30 ovs (R Nikhil 56) lost to IAF (Tambaram) 187/8 in 26 ovs (Vishal Chahar 47 no; Ganesh Vicky 4/50).


Comments are closed.