Railways beat Karnataka to win title for 13th time, record


Extending their incredible record, the Railways beat Karnataka by eight wickets in Saturday’s final to win the Senior Women’s One Day Trophy, India’s national 50 plus competition, for the 13th time.

Railways captain Mithali Raj won the overcast day draw at M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru and chose to line up first.

The Karnataka innings simply never started and they were eliminated for 74 in 38 overs. The star with the ball for the railroads was Renuka Singh.

The right arm pacemaker was devastating with the new ball and came back with numbers 4/14 on seven occasions.

For Karnataka, Niki Prasad, at bat at No.8, was the top scorer with 21 points from 72 deliveries.

In response, opener S Meghana got a 43-ball 36 to set up the pursuit for the railroads. Nuzhat Parween (20 of 38) and D Hemalatha (17 of 23) then went undefeated to lead their team to victory in 22.2 overs.


The competition has had 15 completed editions in history, with the Railroads failing to emerge as champions just twice.

List of winners of the Women’s Senior One Day Trophy

Season Winner Finalist
2006-07 Railways Bombay
2007-08 Railways Maharashtra
2008-09 Railways Maharashtra
2009-10 Railways Delhi
2010-11 Railways Bombay
2011-12 Delhi Hyderabad
2012-13 Railways Uttar pradesh
2013-14 Railways Bombay
2014-15 Railways Odisha
2015-16 Railways Bombay
2016-17 Railways Maharashtra
2017-18 Railways Delhi
2018–19 Bengal Andhra
2019-20 N / A (Season not ended)
2020-21 Railways Jharkhand
2021-22 Railways Karnataka


Comments are closed.