Sooners open NCAA Tournament against Bryant


2 Oklahoma



Friday, May 6 / 3 p.m. CT / Norman / Headington Family Tennis Center

NORMAN – For the first time in program history, the Oklahoma women’s tennis team will host the first and second rounds of the NCAA Tournament May 6-7 at the Headington Family Tennis Center.

The No. 2 seeded Sooners (27-2) host the Northeast Conference champions Bryant (12-7) on Friday, May 6 at 3 p.m. CT.

The other two teams from the Normandy region, Arizona State and San Diego, are scheduled to open competition Friday at noon. The winners of each Friday game will face off on Saturday with a trip to the Super Regionals at stake.

Doors will open one hour before the start of the first game (11 a.m.) and an empty bag policy will be in effect.


• Oklahoma will begin its tournament journey after finishing the most successful regular season in program history.

• The team collected 11 sweeps, 13 ranked wins against top 30 teams and finished unbeaten at home. The Sooners haven’t lost at home in 404 days (March 28, 2021) and haven’t lost a non-conference home game since February 15, 2020 against No. 15 Pepperdine. Under Head Coach Audra CohenOklahoma is 55-14 at Headington Family Tennis Center.

• The Sooners recorded their three-highest program wins, beating No. 6 Duke, No. 1 Texas and No. 5 Pepperdine en route to a second-place finish in their first appearance at the ITA National Indoor Championship in February .

• OU picked up a thrilling Bedlam victory in Stillwater over No. 12 Oklahoma State in the conference finals to claim the program’s first Big 12 regular season title and finish undefeated in conference for the first time in school history.


• Friday’s meeting with Bryant is the first in program history. The Bulldogs moved up a spot thanks to their run to the Northeastern Conference championship. Seeded fourth, Bryant knocked out No. 5 seed St. Francis Brooklyn in the quarterfinals, dethroned seeded LIU in the semifinals and defeated Fairleigh Dickinson to win the program’s second NEC title. It was the first time a fourth seed had knocked out the first seed and won the NEC title.

• Bryant’s roster features two All-NEC first-team singles players, Ada Boru and Leanne Kendall, and two All-NEC doubles teams, Boru and Kendall and Olivia Rondini and Caitlyn Munson. Munson was also named NEC Rookie of the Year.

• It will be the Bulldogs’ second appearance in the NCAA Division I tournament and their first since the 2015 season. Bryant is making his seventh appearance in an NCAA tournament, having won five NCAA Division II championships.


• OU achieved its highest ITA ranking in school history, registering at No. 2 (2/16). The Sooners tied UNC for first in the USTA rankings on April 20. OU has been ranked in the top three in ITA and USTA polls for 12 consecutive weeks.

• Four individuals and one doubles team are ranked in the latest ITA ranking.

• In doubles, Carmen and Ivana Corley are No. 10. The duo are 22-5, 8-3 overall against ranked opponents this season and were ranked No. 4.

• Newcomer Layne Sleepranked No. 10 in singles, has been a dominant force at the No. 1 position and holds a 17-4 record with eight wins over ranked opponents.

• Youth Carmen Corley seat currently 53rd nationally and moved around the top three courts. She enters the tournament with a 13-9 record and has five wins against ranked players.

Anchisa Chanta is ranked No. 64 and holds the team’s best singles record at 22-2. She has a combined 19-5 doubles record with three different partners.

• No. 97 Ivana Corley is 11-7 on the year with a 7-3 rating on court three.


The first and second rounds of the 2022 NCAA will take place at the Headington Family Tennis Center. Live stats and live streaming will be available for all matches in the tournament.

Tournament tickets can be purchased online for $5.00 or purchased at the front door one hour before the first game of the day. Oklahoma students get in free with a student ID. Full NCAA Tournament support can be found here.


A win on Friday would send OU into the NCAA second round against winner San Diego and Arizona State. The regional championship game is at 1 p.m. Saturday.


Comments are closed.